Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 8th, 2010

I have to tell you that the May showers ribbon kit was my favourite so far!  I find this ribbon kit so adaptable.  Here’s what I made with my kit so far

I used lots of Pink Paislee papers on this gift bag. I used glue dots on the paper and covered them with co ordinating glitter. I liked how well so many of the ribbons from the kit co ordinated with this paper line. I even have the green bauble ribbon on the gift tag.

See the gorgeous satin bow?  you guessed it…. from the May showers ribbon kit.  You would think that that ribbon was made for the Queen Bee line from Pink Paislee huh? I also used some dew drops, Prima flower, Thickers, and some fabric leaves.

More Queen Bee paper and I used different ribbon from the May showers kit on this card.  I used die cuts and punches to draw attention to the Technique Tuesday stamped sentiment.  Believe it or not, those flowers started out pink and I sprayed them with glimmer mist.  Wanna know how I got the holes to follow the die cut so perfectly?  I left the Spellbinders die in place and I punched around the inner aspect of the die.  (it is a simple technique and provides big impact)

Yes, I still had the Queen Bee paper out.  This time I used the satin ribbon from the May showers kit to frame the centre area in the layout.   Rolling the edges of the paper as opposed to distressing the edges adds an interesting detail.  I used a wooden skewer to roll my paper and get that effect. The Prima woodland flowers were sprayed with glimmer mist.  The journalling tag is from Crafty Secrets and it is up on pop dots.  I found some twigs in my garden and adhered them to the sides of the tag to continue the nature theme.

I finally put the Pink Paislee paper down and grabbed my scrap bin.  I found co ordinating papers and layered them on this card.  The butterfly has been printed out on acetate and I added the liquid pearls and  the antenna to give it some detail.  I love this ribbon from the May showers kit…. it makes such beautiful bows.  I added a rhinestone button to the centre of the bow. The sentiment is stamped out and to get the interesting “banner” effect, I just bent it with my fingers and then adhered it with pop dots to keep the shape. 

I almost forgot Lily ….. oh my goodness that will never do!

I used 3 different ribbons from the May showers kit, do you see them all?  I used the colourful twill at the top of the page, a piece of the mauve under the hearts and the green bauble to anchor the photo…. I tell ya, this kit is so fun to work with.   As you can see, this month’s ribbon also works very well with Basic Grey papers.

I hope my reveals were worth the wait.  Truth be told, I am blog posting challenged and I needed to attempt the post a few times before I got it right  LOL.  Thanks for waiting and I hope I inspired you to include ribbon in a different way on your creative projects.

Read Full Post »