Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for June 17th, 2010

Direct to paper blending.

You will need 3 colors in the same family (same gray scale and about a number apart) to try this out. I used B00, B02, B04

1. Color you image with your lightest color. Make sure to color in circles to avoid streaks. I leave some areas uncolored in my first coat so that when I go over it it will be a lighter area.

2. While it’s still wet, add your darkest color to your “shadow side”. Do this by doing strokes and lifting up your marker at the end of your stroke so the edge has more color than the end of your stroke.

3. Use your lightest color again and go over the image to blend you lines. Thicker papers will take more blending. If it’s not working try using colors that are closer in numbers

4. Keep doing steps 2 and 3 until you get the effect you want

5. You can add your middle color now where you want it. Then use your lightest color to blend it all together.

This takes practice. And I found to start that blues, greens and light browns were the easiest. Reds were the hardest to blend but I got it after lots of practice. That’s the key with Copics, practice.

Read Full Post »